Types of apprenticeships offered by CITB

CITB Apprenticeships offer the widest range of construction trades of any apprenticeship provider with regional offices located across England, Scotland and Wales

Traditional Apprenticeships

A Traditional Apprenticeship combines studying at college (or training provider) with experience on-site over a two to three year period (or four years in Scotland). This is the most common way to get qualified and is available across the UK.

As part of an apprenticeship, you would achieve an NVQ or SVQ qualification, which you can use to qualify for one of the industry card schemes – essential for getting on-site.

As an employer you may also be able to claim CITB Grant of up to £10,250 to support you through a three or four year apprenticeship.

For further information, take a look at our page on claiming available grants.

Higher Apprenticeships

A new Higher Apprenticeship (Level 5) framework has been developed for England.

The Higher Apprenticeship provides broad-based training and a structured career path for a range of technical, supervision and management roles. This will enable them to progress to higher level jobs using Further and Higher Education.

A Higher Apprenticeship can also develop the skills and knowledge required by construction managers at senior levels to be of a nationally consistent specification and standard.

Specialist Apprenticeship Programme

Specialist Apprenticeships have been designed with trade associations and independent training groups to serve sectors and employers who can’t access specialist apprenticeships through local colleges or training providers.

Specialists’ work often requires a flexible arrangement for learning. The Specialist Apprentice Programmes (SAP), allow apprentices to learn mostly whilst on the job. 

Structured learning helps to build skills, ensuring the apprentice reaches competence levels needed to gain a construction industry recognised NVQ/SVQ.

Access to the programme is open to learners of all ages and apprenticeships attract a CITB grant (where in scope and eligible).

Duration of SAP is usually 24 months, with content delivered by industry experts and supported by CITB’s staff.

Specialist Upskilling Programs

An upskilling one year training and assessment scheme funded by CITB Grant for levy paying employers.

Specialist Upskilling Programmes offer off-the-job condensed training, delivered or co-ordinated by the specialist federation for each route developed; then at month 6, learners are assessed onsite to complete the relevant NVQ.

Shared Apprenticeship Scheme (England and Wales only)

The Shared Apprenticeship Scheme (SAS) is a new approach to training and promises more opportunities for young people and businesses in construction.

Apprentices get a variety of on-site experience by working on high-profile projects for more than one employer, as well as completing a full Level 3 Apprenticeship.

External links

Get the specialist training you need today

Web design by S8080