QCF competence (NVQ)

If you are experienced in construction and need to obtain a CSCS/CPCS card, or simply want to be recognised in your area of expertise, these qualifications are for you. They are also a component part of an Apprenticeship programme for new entrants.

We offer a suite of competence qualifications, previously known as NVQs.

As a learner you are asked to demonstrate, in a real workplace environment, that you are competent against a set of performance statements. You are assessed by an occupationally competent and qualified assessor whose job is to work with you and help you through your programme of learning.

Incremental Change 2015

Phase one

The first phase of incremental change launches on 1 February 2015, and you can view the list of qualifications affected (324KB, PDF). As the units had minimal changes, the qualifications have been processed as amendments and will have no direct impact for existing learners. These qualifications retained their existing award code and Qualification Regulation Number (QRN). Funding has not been affected.

Phase two

The second phase of incremental change will be launched on 1 March 2015. These qualifications have been re-submitted to Ofqual for approval and have new Qualification Regulation Numbers (QRN) and, where indicated, their Cskills Awards qualification award codes. This phase deals with new qualifications and any existing qualification that had to go through the re-submittal process due to units and structure changes that have an impact on the learning.  

Highlighted amends for units

You can view the highlighted amends for units (2MB, PDF) for phase one.

You can view the highlighted amends for units (10MB, PDF) for phase two.

If you are a learner the Approved centre search helps you find qualifications that are available in your area.

If you are a centre the QCF Qualification search gives you all the details you need to deliver our competence qualifications.