Facebook tracking pixel

Success for 13 winners at the Apprenticeship Awards 2019

The CITB Apprenticeship Awards took place on 7 November at Merchant Taylor’s Hall, London. The event saw nine young apprentices and three employers from across England, Scotland and Wales commended for their commitment to their construction apprenticeships. 


The winners were presented with their awards by broadcaster and property entrepreneur, Sarah Beeny, best known for presenting UK shows such as Property Ladder, Streets Ahead and Britain's Best Homes.

The 13 winners are:

Apprentice of the Year Category

Zoe Evans; painter and decorator; Llanelli - Apprentice of the Year, Wales and overall GB Apprentice of the Year

Shayne Davis; bricklayer; Trowbridge – Apprentice of the Year, England

John McMenamin; plasterer; Greenock –Apprentice of the Year, Scotland

Inspirational Apprentices of the Year

Joshua Williams; bricklayer; Tylorstown, Rhondda Cynon Taf

Kieran Learmonth; joiner; Stenness, Orkney

Andrew Sykes; bricklayer; Northallerton, North Yorkshire

Kenny Sandison; scaffolder; Liverpool

David Voss; ground worker; Colchester, Essex


Specialised Applied Programme Learner of the Year 

Richardas Kukoris; sheet metal roofer; London

Large Employer of the Year 

Berkeley Homes (Capital) PLC; Cobham

SME Employer of the Year

Lloyd & Gravell Ltd; Llanelli

Micro Employer of the Year

Airborne Bathroom Services; Liverpool

The Workplace Mentor of the Year category was introduced this year. It recognises those who provide practical support and personal guidance to apprentices, enabling them to develop professionally and personally.

Workplace Mentor of the Year

Douglas Gibb; Aberdeen City Council

Kevin Mcloughlin, CITB board member and founder and Managing Director of Mcloughlin Decorating, said: “This ceremony has been nothing short of inspiring. I thoroughly enjoyed listening to the finalists’ stories and especially about the work employers are doing for their apprentices. CITB continue to support people in their construction careers and the employers who make this possible. Congratulations to everyone”.