Facebook Pixel
Skip to content

Card schemes

CSCS cards provide proof that individuals working on construction sites have the required training and qualifications for the type of work they carry out.

CSCS is a not-for-profit limited company. Its directors are from employer organisations and unions representing the breadth of the industry.

Holding a CSCS card is not a legislative requirement. It is entirely up to the principal contractor or client whether workers are required to hold a card before they are allowed on site. However, most principal contractors and major house builders require construction workers on their sites to hold a valid CSCS card.

Visit the CSCS website to:

Alternatively, call 0344 994 4777. Lines are open from 8am to 6pm Monday to Friday, excluding Bank Holidays.

The Construction Industry Scaffolders Record Scheme (CISRS) has been the industry recognised scaffold training scheme for over 40 years.

It is the preferred scaffolding qualification of all the major organisations including CSCS, NSAC, HSE, UNITE, UCATT and the largest scaffold systems manufacturers.

The scheme which was established in the 1960s, has over 50,000 CISRS card holders in the UK, and more than 4,000 Overseas Scaffolding Training Scheme (OSTS) card holders.

To find out which card you need, how to apply for a card or how to renew, visit www.cisrs.org.uk

You can also email the scheme at  or telephone 0300 999 1177.

The Construction Plant Competence Scheme is owned by NOCN Group and provides skills cards for the plant sector of the Construction and allied industries. 

NOCN Group is a not-for-profit organisation dedicated to creating opportunities through learning and skills.  The Group includes NOCN, one of the largest Awarding Organisations for Construction.

Find out more about the CPCS scheme

Find CPCS support materials and frequently asked questions

Get or renew a CPCS card - CPCS cards for operators or tester, or renew your card

Find a centre for CPCS tests

This organisation holds the official list of gas engineers who are registered to work safely and legally on gas appliances.

For more information about the organisation, how to register to the scheme and for a list of registered gas engineers, visit www.gassaferegister.co.uk

The Industrial Rope Access Trade Association (IRATA International) is the recognised world's leading authority on industrial rope access. It has over 400 members in the UK and around the world. IRATA directs and regulates the training of all workers seeking an IRATA qualification.

The rope access techniques taught by IRATA trains technicians to safely operate in  a wide range or repair, maintenance, inspection and access work.

For more information about the organisation, training and membership, visit www.irata.org.

The International Powered Access Federation (IPAF) promotes the safe and effective use of powered access equipment worldwide in the widest sense. It provides technical advice and information by influencing and interpreting legislation and standards, and through its safety initiatives and training programmes.

It is a not-for-profit organisation owned by its members including manufacturers, rental companies, contractors and users.

For more information about the federation and applying to become a member, visit www.ipaf.org.

The Joint Industry Board (JIB) is an impartial organisation that sets the standards for employment, welfare, grading and apprentice training in the electrical contracting industry.

Their work is targeted at improving the industry, its status and productivity.

For more information about the organisation, apprenticeships and trade standards, visit www.jib.org.uk.

Lantra Awards is a leading awarding body for land-based industries in the UK. The organisation develops quality training courses and recognised qualifications which are delivered by training providers.

Their courses range from plant machinery to road building, and from landscaping to leadership and business management.

For more information about Lantra's training courses and nationally recognised construction qualifications, visit www.lantra.co.uk.

The Scottish Construction Operatives Registration Executive (SCORE) is an accreditation scheme covering over 100 trades. Construction workers holding a SCORE card have proven that they are competent to work in the industry.

For more information about the organisation, the different type of SCORE cards and how to apply for a card.

Sentinel is a leading provider of work 'passports' for the rail industry. Their system holds a worker's safety critical competence data which can be checked and accessed through a worker's 'passport' smartcard.

For more information on how to apply for a Sentinel smartcard, visit www.railsentinel.co.uk.

Triple Bar Nuclear New Build Sites (TBNNBS) is aimed at all workers who are working to build one of the UK’s new nuclear power stations. In particular, it is intended to train workers in a specific way of working which they may not be used to if they've only previously worked on non-nuclear construction projects.

Special note

The Triple Bar for Nuclear New Build Sites (TBNNBS) test is no longer a standalone requirement for entry to the Hinckley Point C Project.  The learning materials and objectives are now embedded into the induction to site which will be part of the full induction process.

For individuals who would like to prepare for the site induction, TBNNBS training can be completed on the Nuclear Training Network (NTN).

If you have any questions about the course material or the test, contact the NTN support desk. The support desk is open from 08:30 to 16:30, Monday to Friday.

Partner card schemes are based on the same standard as Construction Skills Certification Scheme (CSCS) requiring the holder to gain an N/SVQ and pass the Health and Safety Test.

To find more CSCS partner card schemes, please visit the CSCS website for more details including contact numbers for these schemes