What is the National Specialist Accredited Centre (NSAC)?

The National Specialist Accredited Centre (NSAC) provides the construction industry with training and assessment services for highly specialised trades which aren't part of a normal college or training provider's offering.

The NSAC's services are available to construction employers in England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. NSAC is managed by CITB.

Training and assessment

NSAC training and assessments are developed to match the bespoke nature of the specialist industry, whilst minimising downtime and absence from the workplace.

Over 100 occupational qualifications are available from NSAC.

On-site assessment and training (OSAT)

The latest way of judging by a set criteria, the competence of skilled workers. NSAC undertakes both NVQs and SVQ assessments, nationally.

Assessments are carried out at levels 2 and 3 by occupational experts, fully trained to the latest assessor qualifications and linked to NSAC. 

Specialist applied-skills programmes (SAP)

Specialist applied-skills programmes (SAP) contain all the ingredients for a fully validated apprentice programme leading to a vocational qualification (NVQ/SVQ).

These new entrant programmes are currently the only way for specialist employers to get CITB grant support for new entrant training (until any trailblazer apprenticeships may become available).

New entrants must have a full-time contract of direct employment with a Levy registered employer. The minimum age limit for a new entrant is 16 years old, with no upper age limit. Employers however tend to prefer to take on new trainees who are 18 years old or above.

The SAP programmes are developed through partnerships with trade associations, federations and employers in specialist sectors.

Contact us

NSAC works across all four nations in the United Kingdom and can be contacted in England, Wales and Northern Ireland  through: