Find a training group by speciality or trade

CITB supports 31 training groups covering 14 different speciality construction occupations. Training groups are listed by speciality and in alphabetical order.

Civil Engineering Training Group (North East)

Area of coverage: Civil engineering contractors in the North East area
Key contact: Kate Marshall (cetgne@aol.com)
Chair of the group: Tricia Mullen (Tricia.Mullen@esh.uk.com)

Postal address:
Unit H25
Eleventh Avenue
Team Valley Trading Estate
Gateshead
NE11 0NJ

Current training programmes available to employers:

  • training to develop digital skills for site foreman/supervisors.

Current career promotion activities/projects:

  • engagement programme with local schools to promote construction careers.

Scottish Civil Engineering Training Group

Key contact: Teri Urquart or Jenny Mciver (info@scottishcivilstraining.co.uk)
Chair of the group: Clive Coote (akirkwood@georgeleslie.co.uk)

Postal address:
c/o Eastwick Partnership
58 Newton Park
Inverness
IV5 7QB

Website: https://scottishcivilstraining.co.uk/

Current training programmes available to employers:

  • A range of specialist training - see website for details or contact the group training co-ordinator(s).

Current activities in developing sector/industry standards:

  • Contributing to the development of Scottish standards and qualifications.

Construct – Concrete Frame Training Group

Key contact: Tracey Stafford (tstafford@construct.org.uk)
Chair of the group: Steve Hammond (s.hammond@andersongroup.co.uk)

Postal address:
Riverside House
4 Meadows Business Park
Station Approach
Blackwater
Camberley
Surrey
GU17 9AB

Website: www.construct.org.uk

Current training programmes available to employers:

  • concrete supervisor
  • working at heights
  • RC frame operatives
  • edge protection inspection
  • mock court case.

Current career promotion activities/projects:

  • Development of sector specific toolkit of resources for use at careers events, and to train ambassadors for the sector to promote careers.

National Demolition Training Group

Key contact: Iain Kirk (iain@ndtg.training)

CEO: Howard Button (howard@ndtg.training)

Postal address:
NFDC Resurgam House
Paradise
Hemel Hempstead
Hertfordshire
HP2 4TF

Website: http://ndtg.org

Current training programmes available to employers:

  • Training for unemployed individuals to enter the demolition sector
  • Training for self-employed individuals to enter the demolition sector
  • Training for individuals interested in switching careers to the demolition sector.

Current career promotion activities/projects:

  • Producing a careers brochure for the demolition sector.

Current activities in developing sector/industry standards:

  • Trailblazer work for qualifications in the demolition sector.

Scottish National Demolition Training Group

Key contact: Ralph Russell (info@ndtgscotland.com)
Chair of the group: Shona Farrell (acting chair)

Postal address:
30 Nisbet Street
Glasgow
G31 5ES

Current training programmes available to employers:

  • demolition operatives training pilot and rollout
  • demolition supervision (post pilot and development)
  • personal health training
  • various other subsidised training available.

Dry Lining and Plastering Training Group

Key contact: Andrew Bridge (andrew.bridge@citb.co.uk)

Please contact the group co-ordinator for full details of available training programmes and other group activities.

Hire Train

Chair of the group: Graham Arundale (Graham.Arundell@hae.org.uk)

Postal address:
2450 Regents Court
The Crescent
Birmingham Business Park
Solihull
B37 7YE

Website: www.hae.org.uk

Current training programmes available to employers:

  • Range of training courses - see website for details.

Current activities in developing sector/industry standards:

  • Development of hire industry induction course

TOPIC - Plant

Key contact: Nathan Wilkins (nathan.wilkins@citb.co.uk)

Please contact the group co-ordinator for full details of available training programmes and other group activities.

Line Train

Key contact: Jason Jermany (JJermany@rsma.co.uk)
Chair of the group: Geoff Wright (geoff.wright@henrykemp.co.uk)

Postal address:
Unit 35
Corringham Road Industrial Estate
Gainsborough
Lincolnshire
DN21 1QB

Website: http://rsma.co.uk/index.php/your-workforce/training/line-train.html

Current training programmes available to employers:

  • ORAS training
  • thermoplastic operational safety training
  • IOSH training
  • SSSTS, SMSTS, EFAW, IOSH Working and Managing Safely training

Current career promotion activities/projects:

  • Showcasing roadmarking careers at careers events

Eastern Region Roofing Training Group

Key contact: Olivia Gilbert (olivia@eastern.rooftraining.co.uk)
Chair of the group: Clive Coote (info@eastern.rooftraining.co.uk)

Postal address:
6 Lower Street
Baylham
Ipswich
Suffolk
IP6 8JP

Website: http://eastern.rooftraining.co.uk

Current training programmes available to employers:

  • Additional support for NVW level 2-3 learners.

Current career promotion activities/projects:

  • Introduction to roofing careers.

Independent Roof Training Association Scotland

Key contact: Ian Letham (ian@irtscotland.co.uk)
Chair of the group: Peter Treacy (peter.treacy@btinternet.com)

Postal address:
61 Dykehead Street
Queenslie Industrial Estate
Glasgow
G33 4AQ

Website: www.irtscotland.co.uk

Please contact the group co-ordinator for full details of available training programmes and other group activities.

Lead and Hard Metals Roofing Training Group

Key contact: Nigel Johnston (nigel@leadcontractors.co.uk)
Chair of the group: Paul Smith (PaulSmith@longworth-uk.com)

Postal address:
Centurion House
36 London Road
East Grinstead
West Sussex
RH19 1AB

Website: www.traininginmetalroofing.co.uk/

Current training programmes available to employers:

  • Site supervisor
  • Soldering

London and Southern Roofing

Key contact: Michelle Workman (michelle@myrooftrainer.co.uk)
Chair of the group: Mark Notridge (mark.notridge@kingsleyroofing.co.uk)

Postal address:
Nevasa
The Limes
Felbridge
RH19 2QY

Current training programmes available to employers:

  • Please contact the training group co-ordinator for details of courses and support available.

Midland Roofing Training Group

Key contact: Paul Harper (paul@midlandsrooftraining.co.uk)
Chair of the group: Gary Lane (gary@laneroofing.co.uk)

Postal address:
27 Ringleas
Cotgrave
Nottingham
NG12 3LW

Current training programmes available to employers:

  • mentoring and coaching
  • commercial awareness
  • mental health
  • basic leadwork.

Current career promotion activities/projects:

  • ‘Sky is the Limit’ - 5 day taster introduction to roofing for year 9, 10 and 11 pupils

National Metal Training Group

Key contact: Julia Stevens (julia.stevens@citb.co.uk)

Please contact the group co-ordinator for full details of available training programmes and other group activities.

North East Roofing Training Group

Key contact: Helen Wilson (nertg@btconnect.com)
Chair of the group: Alan Chapman (alan@wensleyroofing.co.uk)

Postal address:
c/o Wensley Roofing Limited
Station Road
Chester-le-Street
Newcastle
DH3 3DU

Current training programmes available to employers:

  • building regulations - roofing
  • lead bossing training
  • additional support - please contact the group co-ordinator for details.

Current career promotion activities/projects:

  • work experience for different pathways into roofing careers for school pupils
  • A Day on the Tiles - 2 days for 80 delegates event aimed at increasing numbers of applications via real life work tasters.

North West Independent Roof Training Group

Key contact: Sue Wharton (nwrooftraining@gmail.com)
Chair of the group: Stephen Bithell (sbithell@fulwoodroofing.co.uk)

Postal address:
Priest Hill Farm
Moss Side Lane
Thornley
Preston
PR3 2ND

Website: http://northwestrooftraining.co.uk/

Current training programmes available to employers:

  • range of training for industry specific skills as well as training for managers - please contact the training group co-ordinator for details.

South Central Roofing Training Group

Key contact: Jude Newell
Chair of the group: Mike Fildes

Email: fildesroofing@yahoo.co.uk

Website: www.southcoastrooftraining.co.uk

Current training programmes available to employers:

  • New entrant training
  • NVQ Level 2 training.

South West Roofing Training Group

Key contact: Nichola Smith (gto@swrtg.co.uk)
Chair of the group: Andy King (andy@alkingroofing.co.uk)

Postal address (for administration and enquiries):
10 Yeoford Meadows
Yeoford
Devon
EX17 5PW

Training centre addresses:

  • A L King Roofing Limited
    Hampton Park West
    Melksham
    SN12 6EZ
  • Rooftrain
    Brooklands Mill
    Nadderwater
    Exeter
    Devon
    EX4 2JG

Website: www.swrtg.co.uk

Current training programmes available to employers:

  • apprenticeships in pitched roofing, sheeting and cladding
  • NVQs
  • lead welding and bossing
  • mandatory health and safety courses
  • all site safety
  • UKATA asbestos

Current career promotion activities/projects:

  • training to support becoming a construction ambassador
  • Taste of Roofing for 16-18 year olds

Wales National Roofing Training Group

Key contact: Lesley Hughes (Lesley.hughes@wnrtg.co.uk)
Chair of the group: Gregg Brett (gbrett@treforesttiling.co.uk)

Postal address:
The Old Vicarage
Church Street
Llanbradach
Caerphilly
South Wales
CF83 3LS

Current training programmes available to employers:

  • new entrants core skills training
  • building regulations – roofing
  • construction project management training
  • BIM training.

Current career promotion activities/projects:

  • ‘Have a Go’ for school cohorts to sample and explore roofing careers at training centre.

Yorkshire Independent Roofing Training Group

Key contact: Denise Cherry (Denise@YIRTG.org.uk)
Chair of the group: Alex Kettle (AKettle@everlastgroup.co.uk)

Postal address:
20 Britannia Mews
Pudsey
Leeds
LS8 9AS

Website: www.yirtg.co.uk

Current training programmes available to employers:

  • contact the group co-ordinator for a full list of available training programmes.

Current career promotion activities/projects:

  • Proud to Promote Roofing - a suite of 40 case studies to disseminate at various events
  • preparation of roofing rigs for schools and exhibitions
  • resources can be made available to other training groups when possible - please contact the group co-ordinator for further details.

Access & Scaffolding Industry Training Organisation (ASITO)

Chair of the training group: Mike Burr (mike.burr@ltcgroup87.co.uk
Key contact: David Mosley (david.mosley@nasc.org.uk)

Postal address:
4th floor
12 Bridewell Place
London
EC4V 6AP

Website: www.scaffoldersforum.com/asito-access-scaffolding-industry-training-organisation/

Fit Out and Interior Training Group

Key contact: Andrew Bridge (andrew.bridge@citb.co.uk)

Please contact the group co-ordinator for full details of available training programmes and other group activities.

Shopfitters Industry Training Forum

Key contact: Robert Hudson (Robert@shopfitters.org)
Chair of the group: Marc Allen (marc.allen@tekne.co.uk)

Postal address:
411 Limpsfield Road
Warlingham
Surrey
CR6 9HA

Website: www.sitf.org.uk

Please contact the group co-ordinator for full details of available training programmes and other group activities.

Scottish Specialist Contractors Training Committee

Key contact: Ralph Russell (ralph.russell08@hotmail.co.uk)
Chair of the group: Ian Main (ian.main@ogilvie.co.uk)

Postal address:
121-127 Salamanca Street
Glasgow
G31 5ES

Current training programmes available to employers:

  • Personal health
  • Wall and floor tiling
  • 3 coats plasterwork.

Current career promotion activities/projects:

  • Promoting cultural change in youths towards specialised occupations.

The Steeplejack and Lightning Protection Training Group

Key contact: Adam Bolton (adam.bolton@builduk.org)
Chair of the group: Paul Cripps (paul.cripps@cuttings.london)

Postal address:
6-8 Bonhill Street
London
EC2A 4BX

Website: www.slptraininggroup.org.uk

Please visit the group's website or contact the co-ordinator for full details of available training programmes and other group activities.

Natural Stone

Key contact: Claire Wallbridge (claire@nsitg.org.uk
Chair of the group: Michelle Turner (michelleturner@srslimited.co.uk)

Postal address:
Channel Business Centre
Ingles Manor
Castle Hill Avenue
Folkstone
Kent
CT20 2RD

Current training programmes available to employers:

  • Stone Industry Professional Practice NVQ3
  • PPPTLS training.
claire@nsitg.org.uk

TunnelSkills

Key contact: Abi Pearson (abi.pearson@skillsmanagementconsultants.co.uk)
Chair of the group: Tom Lane (Tom.Lane@bbmv.co.uk)

Postal address:

TunnelSkills
Cranhurst Lodge
37-39 Surbiton Hill Road
Surbiton
Surrey
KT6 4TS

Website: www.tunnelskills.org

Current activities in developing sector/industry standards:

  • Trailblazer support for the sector.

Oak Frame Training Forum

Key contact: Nigel Howe (info@oakframecarpentry.co.uk
Chair of the group: Rupert Newman (info@westwindoak.com)

Postal address:
14 The Quays
Cumberland Road
Bristol
BS1 6UQ

Website: http://oftf.org.uk

Current training programmes available to employers:

  • compass
  • geometry
  • specialist training including:
    • scarf jointing
    • hip roofing
    • tudor windows.
  • SAP
  • HSAP
  • OSAT
  • Tupskills.

Current career promotion activities/projects:

  • building craft skills open event
  • promotional timber careers video.

Woodworking

Key contact: Tony Batchelor (Tony.Batchelor@bwf.org.uk)
Chair of the group: Roger Silk (roger@houghtons.plus.com)

Postal address:

The Building Centre,
26 Store Street
London
WC1E 7BT

Website: http://www.bwf.org.uk/membership/witforum

Current range of training programmes available to employers including:

  • portable power tools
  • supervision
  • safe use of woodworking machinery
  • Corian fabricator
  • Corian fabricator advanced
  • Corian workshop installation
  • AutoCAD beginner
  • AutoCAD advanced
  • timber material handling
  • Face Fit testing
  • wood machine ops
  • CAD/CAM/CNC
  • joinery spraying
  • timber/panel products
  • forklift training.

Current career promotion activities/projects:

  • ‘Wow I Made That!’ careers in Wood and Furniture schools programme.
Share