Wood occupations

The suite contains National Occupational Standards (NOS) related to:

  • Site carpentry
  • Architectural joinery
  • Structural post and beam carpentry
  • Light structural timber framing
  • Timber frame erection
  • Timber decks and cladding
  • Heritage site carpentry
  • Heritage architectural joinery
  • Heritage structural post and beam carpentry and pre-assembled roof structures.

You can view individual standards on the NOS database, or by emailing the Standards team.


Industry has identified the need to carry out a full review of NOS in the areas of Water jetting and Facade preservation.

CITB manages the structures for vocational qualifications. We base the content for these structures on the relevant National Occupational Standards.

The structures are approved by employers and industry stakeholders. Training organisations base their courses on the structures.

See the current recommended qualification structure and national vocational qualification structure for this occupational area.

Recommended qualification structures

Structures for NVQs/SVQ

You can view individual standards on the NOS database, or by emailing the Standards team.

If you would like to suggest changes to the current standards or have a suggestion for the structures, please complete our Standards enquiry form.

You may also be interested in...

  • Scottish Qualifications Authority (SQA)
    National accreditation and awarding body in Scotland for qualifications specifically for Scotland
  • Qualifications Wales
    Regulator of non-degree qualifications and the qualifications system in Wales
  • CITB Northern Ireland (CITBNI)
    Industry training board for Northern Ireland in partnership with CITB as the Sector Skills Council for Construction for qualifying the construction workforce activities in Northern Ireland
  • The ‘Register’ of regulated qualifications in England and Northern Ireland for accredited qualifications.