Qualifications Framework

Qualification Frameworks consist of RQF in England and Northern Ireland, SCQF in Scotland and CQFW for Wales

Regulated Qualifications Framework (RQF)

The RQF provides a single, simple system for cataloguing all qualifications regulated by Ofqual and the qualifications are now indexed by their level and size.

The levels are the same as the previous frameworks but with new level descripters.  All qualifications will now have a measure of size known as Total Qualification Time (TQT) which indicates the time a typical candidate would take to achieve the learning outcomes.

Please click on this link RQF for further information

National Vocational Qualifications (NVQ)  and Scottish Vocational Qualifications (SVQ) 

Please email standards.qualifications@citb.co.uk if you have any queries.

The Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework(SCQF)

In Scotland, The Scottish Credit and Qualifications Framework (SCQF) promotes lifelong learning in Scotland. Through the Framework  you can gain a better understanding of qualifications in Scotland and plan your future learning.

How does it work?

By using two measures, the level of a qualification or learning programme and the number of Credit Points awarded, the Framework helps you understand and compare the various Scottish qualifications. The level of a qualification indicates the level of difficulty and the number of credit points indicates the length of time it takes to complete. One SCQF credit point represents an average of 10 hours of learning time.

The Credit and Qualifications Framework for Wales (CQFW)

The Credit and Qualifications Framework for Wales (CQFW) is an all-inclusive framework that recognises all forms of learning across all levels and abilities. The framework is designed to provide greater clarity on the qualifications system in Wales.

Click on Qualification Wales for more information.

The QiW database is owned and managed by Qualifications Wales, the regulator of non-degree qualifications and the qualifications system in Wales.

QiW contains details of all qualifications that are approved or designated for teaching in Wales for learners aged under 19, excluding higher education.

Any qualifications that are approved or designated by Qualifications Wales will be eligible for funding by a Local Authority or by Welsh Government. This funding is for the education provider, not the learner.

Related links

  • The ‘Register’ of regulated qualifications in England and Northern Ireland
  • The CQFW (Credit and Qualification Framework for Wales)
Web design by S8080